1. Home
  2. Information for Tax Return Preparers
  3. States With Special Transmission Fee Laws

States With Special Transmission Fee Laws

The states of Arkansas, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, and New York require tax preparers to charge the same fees to all clients irrespective of whether or not a client uses a bank product to facilitate payment of their refund, or in the case of New York chooses to e-file or paper file. Legislation in each of these states also specifies other obligations on tax preparers regarding disclosures and notices to their clients. Tax preparers doing business in these states should familiarize themselves with the requirements of the law in their state.

Click on the state to view the specific legislation.

New York

Updated on July 10, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles